Dr. Maro Johnson Home and Office at Roscoe Village
Susan Rissi Tregoning
Photograph - Photography
The home and office of Doctor Maro Johnson. Doctor Johnson practiced medicine in Roscoe Village for 50 years during the Canal era.
In 1816, a bankrupt trader, James Calder, bet that rural farmers would prefer to conduct their business in a port town instead of paying 25 cents for a ferryboat to Coshocton. This led to the establishment of the village of Caldersburgh, which he named after himself. In 1830, the town was renamed Roscoe in honor of William Roscoe, an English historian and prominent abolitionist.
The development of Roscoe was significantly boosted with the construction of the Ohio and Erie Canal in the 1820s. On August 21, 1830, the Monticello became the first canal boat to dock at Roscoe. The village quickly grew into the fourth-largest wheat port along the 350-mile canal system from the Great Lakes to the Hudson River.
However, Roscoe's prosperity declined when railroads replaced canals in the 1860s. Then, in the Great Flood of 1913, everything ended when the canal was devastated, and Roscoe was swept away.
Today, picturesque Roscoe Village has been restored to 1830 when the town was at the peak of the Ohio and Erie Canal era. Costumed interpreters and vintage shops are nestled within the old brick buildings, and it is one of Ohio's major tourist attractions.
Copyright 2023 Susan Rissi Tregoning
November 13th, 2023
Viewed 148 Times - Last Visitor from New York, NY on 12/05/2023 at 3:08 AM